Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First Attempts at Roasting. Failure and success!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Attempts at Roasting. Failure and success!

My starter pack showed up yesterday. I tried a couple of roasts (wok on the bbq sideburner) yesterday afternoon but they didnt turn out very good. They came out really uneven. The side of the bean with the asscrack (Im a newbie and dont know the correct term  :-[) was burnt but the rounded side was underdone.

A friend suggested using a lid and shaking the beans (I was stirring previously) so I gave it a try this morning. The roast came out much better. Im really looking forward to tasting it.

Attached are some pics of my attempts so far.

This is fun! 

Jordan

Re: First Attempts at Roasting. Failure and success!

Thats still better than my first attempt on a popper.
    I burnt mine.

Am sure someone will come along and provide the correct term for the "asscrack" of the bean so we are all enlightened.

An example of a newbie way of roasting is to get a steel dog bowl, a whisk and heatgun and have a go at that.

Another way is to get a popcorn maker n give the beans a whirl, literally ;D

Let us know how those beans taste.

Gary at G

Comment

Thanks Ill give the heatgun a try. Ive been looking for a popper but havent found any at the local shops. Ill keep looking.

I couldnt wait to taste them so I made up a couple of brews in the aeropress. The first batch is not so nice. It has an ashy aftertaste. But this mornings roast is really nice. Way better than the supermarket beans that I am used to.

BTW beans are the Peru something something Estate.

Jordan

Comment

Originally posted by 1039353A2D2A3F34392A580 link=1315962493/0#0 date=1315962493
        asscrack
        LOL