Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yemen Mocha Haimi

Hi
    I recently purchased some of these green beans and was about to start roasting. I am using a Behmor roaster and to my surprise found a lot of the beans/pieces fell through the wire roasting cylinder. I must admist I was surprised given the cost of these beans. Thought they may have been graded better but nevertheless does anyone have any ideas how to overcome this....short of getting a different roaster. Is this normal for these beans? Appreciate any help/advice. >

Re: Yemen Mocha Haimi

Originally posted by 0D21213E2B3C3D4E0 link=1320038115/0#0 date=1320038115
    does anyone have any ideas how to overcome this....short of getting a different roaster.
    Yemen beans are frequently pretty small Coopers.

If you think about it they have a pretty tough life and dont get too much water either. :-?

I have zero experience with a Behmor, but I would think a smaller mesh around the drum might help for this batch?

Cheers

Chris

Comment

Thanks Chris
      I had contemplated that idea but I am unsure what it would do to the roast, ie air/heat flow around the beans.

Comment

Why not send Andy a quick email message Coopers (not PM), Im sure if anyone knows how to deal with this, Andy will....

Mal.

Comment

Plenty of info aorund on this issue, heres some good advice for dealing with it

Originally posted by 5E4B5E435F562C0 link=1294805003/8#8 date=1295206587
          Here is a trick for dealing with small beans in the Behmor. Run the cooling cycle for 2-3 minutes, and allow the really small stuff to fall out. Then I dump those in the trash.

Comment

Dont follow Trentskis instructions regarding the trash, please post me the ones you cant use. Id be very sad to hear that Yemen is being wasted.

Comment

i run the cooling cycle for about 5mins and roast the droppings in a fry pan

Comment

Hi Coopers

I am wondering about these beans also. I am a newbie so may have unrealistic expectations.