Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Green bean - shelf life

hello
    I am new to coffee roasting and interested to know how long I can keep green beans before roasting and what is the best way to store green beans.
    I plan to do just small batch roasting at home for personal use.

Re: Green bean - shelf life

Welcome
    Depends on how you store it. Stored in the right condition some could last up 3 years or more. They will still lose some quality over that period. Humidity and temperature variation are the biggest enemies so they will be ideally stored in an environment which is of optimum humidity (I think it was about 60% at around a steady 20oC. Some use wine fridges to achieve this.
    I have stockpiled and now finding some beans that I bought in 2010 have lost nearly all their flavour. A humid summer in Sydney seems to have had an effect as I was consuming 2009 beans last year that werent nearly as flat.

Comment

My first batch of green beans was inadvertently stored in various and unkind conditions.  I had trouble with initial roasts and gave up for a 3 or 4 years before coming to my senses, and did not have the knowledge of correct storage requirements etc.

After this time they still tasted very nice.  Maybe not as good as I roast now, but I was still very impressed with the flavour, so in my experience the storage conditions have fortunately been quite forgiving. 

I realise this hasnt really answered your questions, but they should still be ok even if you dont have the perfect storage environment.

Cheers

Comment

I keep about about 12 months supply of green beans (approx 40kg) in a metal filing cabinet in my shed (dry cool conditions) and rotate my stock, oldest used first, so Im always roasting beans about 12 months old, freshness is not a problem for me at 12 months, cant comment past that point, and quite honestly why would you amass more than 12months supply anyway? :-?