Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to roasting, and to my Behmor - recommendations?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to roasting, and to my Behmor - recommendations?

Hi All,

I have just received my new Behmor (thanks Andy), and some Peru Ceja de Selva beans, as well as a few others. But I have plenty of the Peru Ceja de Selva beans, so plan on trying them out in my first roasting attempt.

I am completely new to roasting, and would appreciate some thoughts on what settings I should try out for my first roast.

So, suggested bean quantity, initial settings, and how I determine when to start the cooling.

Thanks in advance,

Dave

Re: New to roasting, and to my Behmor - recommendations?

312g, 1lb, P2 C setting.

12 or so mins to first crack, 3-4 minutes to second crack, press cool at second crack. I allow to cool with door closed.

Comment

Great David, thanks for that.

I have just done the burn in cycle, so Ill let it cool then give it a go on those settings.

Appreciate your suggestions.

Cheers,

Dave

Comment

Let us know how you go. Its really easy to lose your nerve and hit cool too soon. You can finish the roast any time after first crack but I like a darker roast and the Peru is nice at second at a CS10.

Comment

Tasted my first roast today, about 36 hours after roasting. Probably was a CS7 or so.

I think I did what you cautioned against - hit cool too soon. Nice body, smooth, but lacking a bit of character.

Did another roast today with Brazil beans - couldnt really tell when 1C ended, and 2C began. They look nicely roasted, at ~ CS8

Once I have got better at recognising the different sound of 1C and 2C, Ill be more confident in extending the roast a little, but looking forward to trying the Brazil in a couple of days.

Appreciate your help.

Cheers,

David

Comment