Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seeking better results for the poor Yemen

Hi,

Ive been roasting with my Gene cafe for around 2 years now, with mostly fantastic results. In the early days i kept a log of every roast i did and tried to aim for first crack at 11:00 ish and delay second by 4-6 mins further if i wanted to go that far, as i heard that was the general consensus.

This has worked for me somewhat, but i still get the odd roast the tastes astringent and dirty. A good example is the Yemen Mocha Haimi. I thought id splash out and try a Yemen that everyone gets so excited about when they pop up at the monthly. I have a nice looking cs9 roast that didnt hit second, smells of berries in the bag, smells amazing off the grinder, but tastes burnt and overly acidic as a doppio ristretto flat white.

My pours are pretty consistent and as i have a Breville BES860 with built in grinder i thought id take the beans to work and try it out on our cafe hardware. As a single shot flat white i got the same result unfortunately. This has been true for over half the bag of the Yemen, which is upsetting. I got the same results with the Ethiopian Limmu, could never get it to taste nice. Are some beans just not destined for the espresso machine or does it sound like my roasting is not hitting the mark? Anyone else tried roasting the Yemen Mocha Haimi in the Gene?

Ive got a USB logger from the bean bay arriving today that i will be putting in the Gene for search of consistency and better results.

Thanks guys!

Re: Seeking better results for the poor Yemen

Originally posted by 41405540464C41250 link=1341271192/0#0 date=1341271192
    I have a nice looking cs9 roast that didnt hit second, smells of berries in the bag, smells amazing off the grinder, but tastes burnt and overly acidic as a doppio ristretto flat white.