Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Breadmaker Mods - Corretto

Hi guys,

After a long break from home made espresso I'm back. I had been using my stove top coffee maker for a few years after my Via Venezia died but a month ago I took the plunge at bought a VBM Jnr from Di Bartoli's and I am once again well and truly addicted to my espresso machine.

So addicted in fact I have decided to start home roasting due to the amount of beans I am going through every week. I picked up a Breadman breadmaker from Salvo's yesterday and am going to get it rewired so the paddle spins non stop but I couldn't find any information on whether people isolate the heating element aswell or is the extra heat not an issue.

Cheers

Sully

Hi Sully
    Welcome! There are lots of different approaches (see the sticky corretto thread) but most people just rewire to mix only. I've only just done that to mine when the touchpad died - for about 18 months I've just been using the dough cycle, which worked fine. I removed the element ages ago, so that I could fit the insulated pan in.
    Maybe you could give the dough cycle a go first? Despite the constant mixing convenience, I am missing being able to use the countdown timer for measuring the time… :-)

Matt

Comment

Yeah, in most cases the heating element doesn't enter into the equation, the Bread Maker is basically just providing agitation.

I have seen, I think, one person who also uses the BM element.

Comment

Thanks guys,

I think I will just pull the element out then.

I checked on the dough cycle last night, it only spins for 15mins and then stops, would this be enough time...I suppose I could just restart it again but for the first couple of minutes it only spins in pulses.

Comment

15 mins is probably a bit short, you want about 20 mins to be sure.