Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Roasting green beans at home - my first and second time.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roasting green beans at home - my first and second time.

I roasted some Guatemala Huehuetenango beans 4 days ago and today I roasted a Brazil Daterra Sweet bean. About 2 hours after the Brazil roast, we tried both beans (separately of course) in a freshly ground coffee, an espresso for one and a piccolo for the other.
    My question is, why is it best to wait about 4-8 days before we are supposed to drink the freshly roasted beans? We found both beans (the Guatemala roasted 4 days ago) and the Brazilian (roasted today) were both okay and drinkable. The Guatemala coffee was smoother and the Brazillian tasted bolder.
    Any input on this question, as its my first time to ever roast, however I've been making coffees since 2006.

Glad to hear you got stuck into roasting. Keep it up and enjoy.

As for why wait I'll leave that to the more experienced guys.

Dan

Comment

Thanks for the encouragement, my next batch will be some robusta to mix with the other roasts. I must say too that have you been "light headed" after drinking a freshly roasted and freshly ground coffee? My head was spinning.

Comment

Hi grindmobile
        It's not like well roasted high quality beans will ever taste bad at any stage post roast - but they will hit a sweet spot at some point as they take a few days to degas (get rid of the CO2). But try for yourself! Roast 300g, try an espresso each day for week - you'll know what the resting fuss is all about soon enough!
        Personally I roast to rest for at least 7 days before I need it - and I find the sweet spot is about 9-10 days, depending on the type of bean.
        But so good to hear you already like your home roasted efforts!
        Matt

Comment

Welcome to CS grindmobile!

We want your home roasts to be better than 'ok and drinkable' !! 8-)