Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hardness/Softness of beans

Hi,

I am new to home roasting and am discovering that it is important to know the hardness/softness of the green beans. The categories I have found are:

(SHG) Strictly high grown

(SHB) Strictly hard bean

(SS) Strictly soft

It would be great I think if Andy could include this info (for us newbies) on the BeanBay green coffee pages in the description of each coffee.

I have read in the past that you know that coffee is fresh if the beans are hard to grind in a hand grinder. But when I went to grind my freshly roasted India Elephant Hills AA, it was much easier to grind than most roasted beans I have ground in the past. Could this be because they are an (SS) category? Or if they are an (SHB) or (SHG), are the green beans too old?

Thanks guys.

Great post,

I too would like to see this info for all the green beans in beanbay.
    Also what are the suggested roasting profiles for each category?
    Hopefully some of the roasting heavies will chime in.

Cheers

Comment

;-) Read that on the internet?

The India Elephant Hills in Beanbay is current crop.

There is another way to approach the info that you're seeking, other than asking more of Andy, who does publish the bean classification where

it's part of the bean's name.

For newbs and long time members alike there is a lot to be gained from googling the beans by name,

whether it's finca, fazenda, estate, co-op, or washing station. You can find out all sorts of things about where our coffee comes from.

e.g.

https://www.google.com.au/search?cli...AqKN8Qe2zIDgDQ

Mzuzu Coffee Planters Coopeartive Union Limited

https://www.google.com.au/search?cli...LKGN8QeQvIGwDg

https://www.google.com.au/search?cli...J6SN8QfAhIGADg

Comment

Ummmmm..... suggested roasting profile for.....behmor?, baby?, popper?, corretto (which one?), hot top?,