Self Doubt and all that entails

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Self Doubt and all that entails

Have you ever roasted and had what you thought was great Coffee?

I have !. But then you read stuff, like if it is over 3-4 mins between 1st & 2nd Crack you are baking.

I was having my home roasted which I actually enjoy above anything I can buy at coffee shops and hear that if I have roasted above 4 minutes past 2nd crack

I am having bakery goods.. Shit, what am I going to do? Gotta cut the time down, yep.

I have been drinking coffee for about 50 years and I suddenley realised that I may not even know what coffee is supposed to taste like.

I know the old adage that it is what it tastes like to you, in the cup and all that, but how can I tell if I was just enjoying baked shit. What if my whole thing was just lost in taste.

What if the taste of Coffee is something that I missed due to preconceived ideas of what I thought it could be.

I only bring this up because I roast my own etc but the roasting section gets really down to it all and I often feel lost and so I at times feel like giving up.

I am going to but, f... me, it gets super technical at times.

What should coffee taste like?

RC

I appreciate where you're coming from.

Good coffee is coffee you like to drink.

Comment

but how can I tell if I was just enjoying baked sh1t.

Even if you are, does it really matter if you are enjoying it?

Coffee forums (I like to think not this one as much as some of the overseas ones) can get hung-up on a whole lot of regurgitated crud and specific numbers that can make the process seem far harder than it is.