Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Roast Post

Hi All,

I'm just getting into home espresso and roasting. My first ever shipment of greens from beanbay arrived today (Brazilian Pulped Natural 2.5kg).

I want to share with you my first ever roast to encourage people who have been thinking about it to have a go and to get any feedback or suggestions you can offer to improve my future roasts.

I have been looking at getting a behmor 1600 but wanted to be sure that home roasting was for me. After some reading and youtube I bought an Ozito heat gun ($39) from the big green shed and a stainless steel dog bowl from the supermarket ($12). I figured 50 bucks plus some beans is not too bad and will still come in handy if I don't take up roasting. I thought about a popcorn maker but the heat gun seemed to have more control over temperature and a number of other factors.

Here is how the roast went:

The Ozito heat gun has two fan speeds and a temperature dial.

Beans just covered bottom of bowl (single layer depth).

0 minutes - half heat / half power (first fan setting)

5 minutes - half heat / full power (second fan setting)

12 minutes - full heat / full power

16 minutes - First crack

16:30 minutes - half heat / full power

18:30 minutes - full heat / full power

21:54 - start of SC

cooling - into stainless strainer and in front of fan while agitating.

They are at about a CS6 or CS7 I would say. I didn't let SC get rolling because I didn't want to risk burning my first roast. In future batches I will try to get them a little darker and also try a lighter roast and see how they turn out in the cup.

I let the beans cool to room temperature then bagged them in a one way valve bag. How long do you think I should let them rest?