Panama Jaramillo SHB

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Panama Jaramillo SHB

Just roasted my second batch of this and I'm lost as to why I keep getting a burnt taste ? Roasting in a -Gene- set the temp at 240c till first crack then levelling off and turning down 220c -215c for the second. Not using the cooling cycle tipping out beans straight into colander then a pizza tray for the final cooling.
    I'm new to this whole roasting thing I might add, have done half a dozen other bean batches (Columbian Volcan Galeras Supremo and Indian Elephant Hills )...but they've turned out sensational.
    I'm thinking that these little Panama chaps are trickier to roast ? Is there something that's unique to this type of coffee I need to know ? Maybe a slower temp progression or lower temp in general ?
    Any advice appreciated

Welcome Rich
    As a hard bean, I'd try slowing it down a little to 1C overall, or maybe try more of a ramp up to 1C - say 200 for a while then up to 250 towards 1C? (not knowing the Gene that well). Get that internal temp up before nailing it with higher heat
    Cheers Matt

Comment

Hi RichT,
      I am drinking this right now and also roast in a Gene. I did my usual profile of:
      Preheat to 235
      Emegency stop and load beans
      250 degrees until half way through FC (10-11 mins approx)
      Temp drop to 232
      Temp rise to 238 @ 13.5 mins
      Pulled at 15 mins
      First snaps of second heard as I was dumping

6 days post roast its medium bodied and nicely balanced. No burnt tastes at all for me.

Comment

Ah you guys are the boss !!! ....that's exactly what I needed to know and thanks for your profile depecid that'll help me a lot. I suppose it's a standard 250g batch ?
        Shall give it another go..... tomorrow.
        Cheers
        Rich

Comment

Yep you are correct, 250g batch.