Roasting slow-fast profile in the KKTO

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roasting slow-fast profile in the KKTO

I'm really struggling to retain any aromatics in my KKTO roasts, and maybe 1 in 10 roasts has the fruity acidity I'm so keen to find. It might be to do with too high a heat level and possibly an airflow thing, but I'm not experienced enough to troubleshoot. I'm sure it's just my skills lacking, but I'm almost inclined to stop searching and just resign myself to darker cocoa-like roasts. It's a bummer, given the tantalising descriptions Andy puts on these coffees. I know it's in there, just a bit too amateur to make it happen!

Do you have any roast profile samples that you could post up Al?
    Might help us to try and help you...

Mal.

Comment

Sure, I'll prepare a few of my recent ones. TBH, it's my first winter of roasting in the KKTO (last winter it was a popper), so that's also thrown me a little.

Comment

Ok - here's a bit of a recent cross-section.
        First is a Mexican, 600g batch, which has been my most consistently successful bean to roast this year. Been awesome. Sadly, I just ran out. Alas. I enjoy roasting this bean, and the results. It seems to like the high temperatures pretty well.
        Click image for larger version

Name:	Mexican.png
Views:	1
Size:	114.4 KB
ID:	742495

Second is a Peru 600g batch

Name:	Peru.png
Size:	90.0 KB
ID:	742496

The next 3 I roasted this week, and have lowered my charge weight from 600g to 500g to try have a little more energy in the system, and to control it better. So, as you'll note, I've dropped my environment temperature from 265 down to 250/255 range.

Peru 2 - this one I was trying to push through to a 2nd crack, but it actually ended up not getting anywhere close, and I had to drop it as a light/medium roast.

Name:	Peru2.png
Size:	113.7 KB
ID:	742497

Ethiopia:

Name:	Ethiopian.png
Size:	111.9 KB
ID:	742498

Rwanda:

Name:	Rwanda.png
Size:	113.5 KB
ID:	742499