Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roasting Decaf Wow on Behmor

Hi fellow coffee snobs,

I am a total newbie with roasting and have only been using a popper for the past couple of months with Indian and Colombian beans which have tasted great. I decided to make the leap into my first roaster so I purchased the new Behmor AB 1600+ and just received it today.

I have read that roasting decaf can be hard compared to other roastas. I don't drink decaf but bought it for my parents and want to give them a great tasting cup. Does anyone have a roasting profile suggestion for the Decaf Wow beans from beanbay? I am a bit worried I will stuff it up as I don't even know how to use the machine to its full potential yet. Appreciate any tips.

Thanks

This would be a great use of the site's search function (Upper right corner area of every page.) as there are a number of discussions on the topic. Use the advanced option, search for "decaf wow" only in titles and only in the Home Roasting - Tips, Tricks, Ideas forum and sort by topic.

Java "Yields a manageable number" phile
    Toys! I must have new toys!!!

Comment

I would suggest you start roasting with the Indian Elephant Hills, a great bean to learn on and then switch to decaf.

Learning to roast on a new roaster with Decaf is asking for unnecessary stress. Get yourself a good baseline with the Elephant and then copy that for the decaf and it should be pretty close with maybe a tweak or two based on taste.

Enjoy the learning.

Comment

• witherz
        witherz commented
        Editing a comment
        Andy, are there any changes with the new AB vs the 1600 plus that would significantly change how the profiles worked? Just wondering if recommending something that works well on the 1600 plus will translate fairly well for the AB.

• Andy
        Andy commented
        Editing a comment