3-layer latte

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3-layer latte

Ive just started making coffee in a cafe as a part-time job cos im just a student. This is also the first time ive known about flat white, latte, coffee machine... and stuff like that. I need some help 4 my new job at the moment.

At the cafe i work, latte is served in a transparent glass, so that layers of coffee and milk can be seen clearly. I have some problems with making those layers.

As i was taught, i have to pour hot milk into the glass first, then hold a small spoon above the surface of the milk and pour black coffee onto it, so that coffee can flow slowly into the glass and stay between 2 layer of milk. In other word, what im expected to do is to make 3-layer latte: milk, coffee, milk.

The problem is I can only create 2 layers. When i pour black coffee into the glass, it flows through the milk-layer on top, then it doesnt stay between 2 layers of milk but keeps going down and mixex with the milk-layer at the bottom.

Could anyone tell me how to make a good 3-layer latte??? Is my problem caused by the temperature of milk and coffee??

Re: 3-layer latte

Cant help you sorry Tram. I have not seen this done at any cafe I have been to, if you learn how to do it let us know the method for interest sake!!!

Comment

Hey there!

Congrads on the new job. I know the drink you mean, some people call it an upside down latte!

It can be pretty easy to pull off, what you do is:

1 - Steam your milk for a latte
      2 - Pour it into the clear glass, leaving enough room in the top for the shot of espresso,
      3 - Pull your espresso into a small jug.
      4 - Very slowly, pour the espresso out of the jug, so that there is just a thin stream of espresso coming out, into the centre of the glass.