Milk Frothing Problem - EM6910

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Milk Frothing Problem - EM6910

Im new to the coffee making scene and experimented for about a week to work towards making the perfect expresso.

Now i am using LaZumba Latino beans, grinding on setting 11 (EM0480) and beleive i have the tamper routine set (my shots seem to tast quite good) but its the frothing part that is failing time and time again.

I have tried full skim, semi-skin and full cream milk to no avail. I start of with the jug in the fridge, pour in milk so its just under the bottom of the spout (for 2 x 190ml flat whites/cuppucinos), apply full steam whilst keeping the tip just under the surface of the milk. After about 40deg i tilt the jug to cause the whirlpool and then keep it here until 65deg is reached. After 65deg is reached i keep swirling the milk a little and bump the jug to get rid of any large bubbles (not many).

Problem is the milk always comes out too runny and its impossible to do any artistry on the surface, its just a tad thicker then normal milk.

Any help much welcome.

Re: Milk Frothing Problem - EM6910

When you are keeping the tip just under the surface you want to make sure you stretching the milk (which I suspect you are not). To do this position the tip so you hear a chk-chk sound (quite like tearing paper) and expand the milk by 10-15% then focus on a whirlpool. Look here for a good example.

Comment

After you have turned the steam on, just lower the jug slightly until the steam tip breaks the surface. Youll hear the chk-chk sound as MM said. With your hand under the milk jug you can feel the milk heating. Once the jug no longer feels cool, you should raise the jug until the tip is just below the surface. Get that whirlpool effect going and you will soon have perfect milk. Good luck!

Comment