Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

If you use Google, you may want to read this

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • If you use Google, you may want to read this

    Today is your last chance to adjust your Google privacy settings ahead of a major change to the way Google collects and collates data about you, its users.

    From March 1, the company will begin to aggregate all the information it acquires about its users who are logged in to Google services into a single, unified pool of data.


    .... here’s how you can quarantine your Google Search History from the new data aggregation process.

        Go to the Google History page and sign in.

        If your Web History has been activated, you should see a button which says: “Remove All Web History”. Then click “Okay” to confirm.

        When this is done you will see a “Resume” button, which you can click if at any time in the future you change your mind.


    Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/technology/if-you-use-google-you-may-want-to-read-this-20120229-1u1i9.html#ixzz1niKiBC3y

  • #2
    Re: If you use Google, you may want to read this

    Good stuff isnt it?

    And removing your web history doesnt actually do this, it means that you history will be partially anonymised after 18 months and that Google will abstain from using it for certain purposes. (source as per previous post).

    If really p#@#$ off with this, drop google services that require logging in.
    BOSW.


    Comment


    • #3
      Re: If you use Google, you may want to read this

      It gets worse:

      Phone apps help themselves to our contacts, Google tracks our web history, and supermarkets monitor our buying habits. Can anything stop the great data grab?

      If you use a smartphone and download apps, youve probably used an app which pops up a dialog box pop asking Find your friends? and offering to search some new social network - or one of the more familiar ones - for people you already know.

      Its easy and quick to click on the OK button. But do you know whats happening once you do? This is where you suddenly discover that what you thought you knew about your online privacy is wrong - or at best, incomplete.

      In mid-February, an Indian researcher, Arun Thampi, figured out what was happening when Path, a would-be social network app for Apples iPhone for sharing your life, asked that question. It was uploading the entire contents of your address book - names, emails, phone numbers - to Paths servers.

      Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/technology/technology-news/the-end-of-online-privacy-20120302-1u6xr.html#ixzz1numBMLCJ

      Comment

      Working...
      X