Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Which coffee machine - EM5600/EM5800 or another?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which coffee machine - EM5600/EM5800 or another?

Hi all,

I am new to Coffeesnobs and think this is a great site.  My previous experience was limited to reviewing articles in publications like Choice, but I have since realised the error of my ways and wont go down that path again!

I am considering buying a coffee machine, and am relatively new to the whole thing.  My only prior experience was last year, when I purchased a Magimix lEspresso Program Automatic, which was a complete disaster and I had to return it after encountering problems with a leaking group and other issues on three separate occasions.  Yes, I had it fixed, but these issues kept coming up within the first two mopnths of buying it, so I thought best to cut my losses and return it.   Of course, the decision to buy itr in the first place was partly based on the Choice article.  Say no more!!

I am now looking to purchase something relatively simple and at the lower end of the price range.  The two machines that keep getting my attention are the Sunbeam EM5600 and the EM5800.  

Does anyone have a recommendation on which of these they would go for, or indeed is there another machine I should be considering given my price range (which is about $400 at most) and level of experience?

Many thanks in advance!

Re: Which coffee machine - EM5600/EM5800 or anothe

ill get in first and say what everyone else will say...do you have a decent grinder?  as you will notice on reviewing this site, the grinder is the limiting factor and you need to spend at least a couple of hundred dollars on one (preferably more).  If your budget is 400 all up then youre quite limited.  Id look at spending all 400 on the grinder and then look to invest in a second hand machine.