CLR to descale?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CLR to descale?

Hi everyone. Im a complete noob here, but can someone tell me if its okay to descale my espresso machine with CLR clear? (Calcium Lime & Rust remover from the supermarket). Im using a Sunbeam Cafe Crema and it has started pulling really bad spluttery esspressos. It was fairly good when I got it. My friend has just done her machine with CLR and says it worked a treat, but I have reservations, as I dont want to buy a new one right now :-)

Your advice is appreciated!

Cheers

Re: CLR to descale?

Originally posted by 7B7F6B6D383A3A3A0A0 link=1235525210/0#0 date=1235525210
    Hi everyone. Im a complete noob here, but can someone tell me if its okay to descale my espresso machine with CLR clear? (Calcium Lime & Rust remover from the supermarket). Im using a Sunbeam Cafe Crema and it has started pulling really bad spluttery esspressos. It was fairly good when I got it. My friend has just done her machine with CLR and says it worked a treat, but I have reservations, as I dont want to buy a new one right now :-)

Cheers
    Im not prepared to drink CLR so no way would I descale with it . When commercial and dedicated products are so cheap, it amazes me that people would endanger themselves for a few bucks.

I suggest that you buy a product designed for your machine and follow the manufacturers instructions.... :

2mcm

Comment

Originally posted by 6064707623212121110 link=1235525210/0#0 date=1235525210

Cheers
      Given that I bought a bottle of descaling liquid for kettles from the supermarket on the weekend for $1.99, I also wonder why you would take the risk!! CLR eats away so much, I hate to think what it might do to the lining of your stomach!

Get the real deal and save yourself the risk.

Comment

i cleaned my machine with it last week, it worked so damn good... i also pulled out the shower screen and seal and cleaned it up good.