Sunbeam EM3600 Issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sunbeam EM3600 Issues

Hi all. Long time stalker, first time poster. Im a uni student/coffee adict, so unfortunately Im on a limited budget. I have myself a EM3600 espresso machine and the EM0480 sunbeam grinder. It makes decent coffee, better than I can get in a lot of coffee shops around uni anyway, and LOTS more consistent (but maybe thats me). Anyway OT. Ive been having a lot of trouble getting a good volume/time ratio. The shot starts nice and dark before going blonde, as expected. I get a nice appearance on the final shot, however, I get the shot in about 15 seconds. Ive experimented with different grind settings, and 15-16 for my lavazza beans produces the nicest colour. So then I experimented with tamping (with the 51mm tamper from the sunbeam barista kit) and that wasnt successful either.

I seem to recall somewhere reading that on the em3600 the shot was supposed to be quicker than the 30ml/ 30sec... I seem to think it was in the manuals for either the 3600 or the 480, but now I cant find it anywhere.

Is this to do with the machine? Or my technique?

Possibly relevant info:
    using whole fresh(-ish - from supermarket) beans, filtered water, the 2 cup pressurised filter that comes with the machine.

I can possibly post photos/movie if this would help?

Thanks for your help!

Re: Sunbeam EM3600 Issues

Hi there

I suspect the first thing you need to do is get an unpressurised basket - as adjusting the grind and tamp wont make a huge difference if the coffee is still getting forced through a single hole!

The second thing to do then is probably to dump the supermarket sourced beans - once you move to an unpressurised basket the freshness of the beans will play a much bigger role.

Enjoy!

Sniff.

Comment

Hi SniffCoffee, thanks for the reply. Ive been thinking about doing both those things actually.