Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to this all.. want to make cappuccinos for my wife.. please help!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to this all.. want to make cappuccinos for my wife.. please help!!

Hello,
    I have been on the site for awhile and appreciate the honesty of all the posts. I have a few questions. I am new to all of this. My most advanced coffee making ability is using a french press. I want to get a machine that my wife can easily use or learn to use, will last and that she or I could make decent cappuccinos with. I was considering LELIT PL042 EM as I have read on multiple sites it is an excellent machine. Honestly, I am somewhat nervous to make any purchase as I dont want to be overwhelmed with too big a learning curve and reviews seem to be so mixed depending on where you go. I can spend $500 but preferably less. Funny enough I cant even find the price and a place to buy the Lelit model. What do you think? Do you have any other suggestions.
    Thanks,
    Nick Myhre

I used that machine for three years and enjoyed it. Unless you are getting this second hand expect that it will be well over your budget though as it is about $1,000 in Australia.

Comment

Don't forget that you will also need a decent quality grinder, which you will need to factor into your price. I know you're after espresso/cappuccino but fresh beans, ground immediately before you use them is fundamental, and will dramatically improve your French press.

Good luck on your mission!

Comment

dski raises a good point... although the grinder in the Lelit Combi is okay, I found that there was a massive improvement in espresso quality when I upgraded to a Mazzer Mini...

Comment