Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rancilio S10

Hello,
    Does anyone currently own one of these (or have owned or operated).  I need any and all the Information you have please.

Thanks,

Ralph

Re: Rancilio S10

OK, so what exactly does the external pump do? What are the pressure output requirements? Is it possible I use mains water pressure?

Comment

Gday Ralph,

And Welcome to CoffeeSnobs [smiley=thumbsup.gif]......

I guess before any of us can try and answer your questions properly, what exactly are your intentions with this machine?

Mal.

Comment

My intenetions? Well, to make good coffee. I have 15A power point, lots of restoration skills and a passion for coffee, so why not? I am an electronics technician with heaps of mechanical and pneumatics experience as well. I have just bought an Rancilio S10/CD. It has the pump but no pump motor. I filled the tank manually last night and gave it a run. Everything as far as steaming seems to work. It makes nice dry steam and plenty of it. I can work out how the auto filler works and the blue momentry switch looks like its a manual filler using the pump(?). I notice that the brew switch also activates the external pump circuit but I havnt quite worked out how the group head actually works yet. It certainly passes steam (one more than the other). The left hand steam valve is also shot. Ive got a bit of work to do on it, but I think it will be a goer.

Comment

Sounds like your the man for the job Ralph!!

Good luck

Comment

Being unfamiliar with the Rancilio S10, I can only offer a few possibilities regarding how the group works. Most commercial machines use a 3-way solenoid valve that when not energised, will provide a direct path from the group to the drain. When brewing, this is energised and switches from the drain to the heat exchanger circuit, allowing brew water to flow through the group into the coffee.