Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

The freebie San Marino restoration has begun.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The freebie San Marino restoration has begun.

Hi fellow CSers,
    The SM 2 grouper I graciously acquired from MichelBlackwood nearly a month ago is now in pieces and the restoration has begun. After visiting Bruno my repairman friend and having a look over, it was decided that this girl was well and truly worth the investment of the restoration, the major problems being a non working touch pad, a couple of solenoids requiring replacement, one tight steam valve and one serious cleanup.
    As this is my first time going through this purpose, I am grateful for the info forwarded to me by Jeff (ccc2), I now feel confident with the progress.
    At this point in time, the machine has been stripped back to the chassis, and there is evidence that one of the groups had been leaking at the connection between heat exchange and group flange. What should I do to bring the chassis back to a neat finish, it appears to have a gold passivated finish over steel? Do I rub it back with wet and dry and then respray a finish or do I get it sandblasted? What have you other restorers done? Or do I just leave it be?
    While waiting for some cleaning supplies and parts from Bombora, I decided to purchase some citric acid from Brewcraft and have descaled the groups, boiler and element back to bare copper and brass; I used 25gms per 1 litre of boiling water which seemed to do the trick eventually, some pieces requiring 2 or 3 sessions, and Im happy with the outcome. Ill post some picks just as soon as my daughter finds the camera cable.
    Second question, do I source gaskets for the boiler and groups from Coffeeparts or are there other sponsors out there who could assist? The gaskets I pulled out were Teflon so I would be replacing with the same.