La Cimbali M21 Junior Stuck Portafilter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• La Cimbali M21 Junior Stuck Portafilter

I have a La Cimbali M21 Junior and up until now had never had any problems. I decided to clean it using a new blind insert which I purchased from coffee parts....it fitted into the group perfectly and I had no problems inserting it into the head. I did a couple of sessions and everything went well but when I went to remove the group from the head it wouldn't budge. I tried everything I could think of then resorted to less gentle persuasion and used a hammer to gently tap the group in order to turn it enough to release it. This resulted in the handle of the group breaking off at the end leaving the stub of the screw still attached and it still won't budge. I need to know if there is anything I can do to remove the group.....this is getting desperate as this is my only source of coffee and.......you all know what happens when there is no coffee......please help!

I have an M21 and have never had a moment's trouble, so this is a first!

First, let the machine cool to room temp. Just turn it off and walk away!

Later, when it's cool, get the appropriate size allen key and loosen the three bolts holding the collar around the group head. A few turns of each bolt (don't forget the one at the back) should drop the collar enough to release the pressure on the group handle. Wiggle gentle and it should release.

Hope this works!! I'm not a nice person without coffee

Comment

Thanks for that DTQ, just waiting on delivery of allen keys to give it a try. Fingers crossed

Comment

Presuming it is indeed unrelieved pressure that is preventing the group handle/portafilter from being taken off once it is off you'll need to determine why the 3-way valve did not work correctly.

Java "Please release me let me goooo...." phile
        Toys! I must have new toys!!!

Comment

How did you go with this? Up and running again I hope

Comment