Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rocket R58 or Profitec 700 or New ECM Dual 75 PID; So Many Questions???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rocket R58 or Profitec 700 or New ECM Dual 75 PID; So Many Questions???

Hello All,

Long time listener, first time caller.... Love the show! (My attempt at comedy)

Well, after many years of sufferance with a pod machine and approval from the chief of war and finance, I'm in the midst is searching for my first prosumer espresso machine.

To give a little bit of a back ground..... I'm an engineer, so I love the inner workings of these machines and also the finesse of trying to achieve that ultimate shot. I don't spend a hell of a lot of time during the week at home, so this machine will do most of its work on Saturday and Sunday mornings and entertaining (coffee loving family and self-confessed snobs).

Until last week I had my search narrowed down to 2 machines (thanks to all the great info on this forum, thanks guys); the Rocket R58 and the Profitec 700.... I was also looking at the ECM Controvento due to the fact that I love the workmanship of the ECM, but the price tag (around 5.5K) and the large footprint were putting me off.

And then..... I was reading some info online about the 2015 HOST in Milan a few weeks ago and read that ECM were releasing a new dual boiler with PID in a similar body shape to the EMC Profi. Can someone tell me is this the same machine as the Profitec 700 just with a different label?

Specs on the ECM Dual 75 PID are;

· ECM E61 brew group
    · Dual Boiler
    · Stainless steel .75lt boiler for espresso boiler
    · Stainless steel 2lt for steam and hot water boiler
    · Off/on switch for steam boiler
    · PIP temp control for both boilers and shot timer
    · Rotary pump
    · 3lt water tank (can also be plumbed)
    · No burn steam and hot water wands
    · 10amp electrical heating with 1x1400W and 1x1200W