Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running less elements

Hi guys

I'm new to the whole pro coffee machine setup.

I've got a leone bv 2 group machine and want to run one less element to be able to use a 10 amp socket safely.
    Issue is I have no idea what to look for.
    Does anyone have any work instructions or images? I'm slightly proficient with electrical stuff but don't want to disconnect something I shouldn't be haha

Thanks

John

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1448164266.298862.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	323.6 KB
ID:	741276Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1448164350.635980.jpg
Size:	296.8 KB
ID:	741277Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1448164420.658470.jpg
Size:	328.3 KB
ID:	741278

Comment

Yes (normal caveats apply).

This is my personal project: I ran up a 4 group single-phase, 25amp CMA with a 6kW element that was jumped (3 poles phase; 3 poles common).

Remove jumpers. Determine continuity from one pole to another. Attach phase and common (these are sloppy but I only need to run this monster up three times to full steam - 1.2 bar in this case to test).

I made up a standard 10amp plug that came off a dead domestic machine and, as depicted, attached to a terminal block.

Stand clear of conducting material and turn on.

So ... the 6kW 6 pole element hobbled to 2 poles like so soaked 9.85amps/2.4kW @ 240VAC (about 24.5 Ohms).

Perfectly fine to test (test only).

For your safety, and possibly my ass, Do not attempt this without a RESIDENTIAL RCD OR PORTABLE RCD.

Please PM me for details or the forum will (burn me) chip in with other pointers.

Comment

Oh ... post images of your BV's internal pstat/element set up for us to look please!

Comment

Personally, I believe that if you need to ask these sorts of questions, you should be employing the services of a licensed and qualified person to do the work for you.

Very rarely get second chances with 240V AC...