Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just purchased a Hario Syphon and....

Hi all,

I have just purchased a Hario 3 cup Syphon and i'm wondering if any one can give me some do's and dont's when using one. Im assuming it takes some trial and error but some expert and amateur views and opinions on using it would be greatly appreciated. Eg temp, bean types and so on.

Cheers,

Chris

PS.. wasn't sure if i should post this here or manual brew equipment so just posted it here

It should be under Manual Brewing where you will find other threads on syphons.

I'm not an expert but DO
    - buy the butane burner rather than rely on the spirit burner. I've never tried the halogen heater but seems an extravagance.
    - heat the water in the kettle before adding to the syphon
    - view several Youtube videos on the technique
    - use coffee roasted for manual brewing (CS7 - 8)
    - reserve making syphons for occasions when you can take your time to prepare and enjoy
    = wash out the equipment as soon as you can after use.
    - wash your filter well after use. I soak it in water for a few hours then hang it to dry

..and DON'T
    - add milk
    - add sugar
    - stir too much
    - be afraid to experiment.

Comment

Hey Chris, try this: (rhymes!)

16gm medium coarseness coffee
      265gm water.

Fill bottom chamber with the water. Fix the filter in the top chamber and centre it (you can use the stirrer). Stick the top chamber on to the bottom chamber, a small press is fine, you dont have to brutally wedge it in. Bring water to top chamber under heat. then reduce the heat (if you have that option). The top chamber will be approx 94C. This is by design. Smart eh.

Get your timer ready.

Give the top chamber a quick stir (the water) to drop it a couple of deg.

Tip in the coffee grinds and submerge with the stirrer, any way you can, just submerge it all. rest the lid (or something) on top for 35 seconds. Yeah, just 35 seconds.