New Rancilio or....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Rancilio or....

Hi there, Im new to very good coffee at home, but Ive done a bit of research which suggests a Rancilio Silvia is the machine to buy. However..
    I want a long white coffee and so I want hot water. Can I get that from a Silvia?
    Ive put up with a basic Sunbeam machine, so Ive had to add water from a separate kettle.
    The other matter is my hand function which is limited (I have a disability) and Ive always had trouble in removing and emptyiing the filter after use. Im hoping that with the Silvia it may be easier?
    If either of these problems are with the Silvia, can any of you suggest a similar-quality machine that can froth milk well, ie make a good frothy cappucino?
    Thanks. Steve, Brisbane.

Re: New Rancilio or....

Hi Rumbleseat and welcome to CS.

The centre button on the Silvia will deliver hot water to top up your shot via the steam wand...

Hope this helps and good luck in your search

2mcm

Comment

Steve,

Hi and welcome to CoffeeSnobs.

The Silvia will indeed produce excellent coffee - and hot water as well.

But re removal and emptying the PF.... unfortunately because it has to contain a lot of pressure it must be fitted quite tightly..... which also makes removal hard. This is true for all machines with PFs (including my commercial).

The pucks will be drier than your existing machine - but will still need to be tapped out.

The only other solution would be a super automatic (like a Jura)- a lot more expensive and wont make coffee which tastes as good - but has no PF to fit, remove and empty.

Enjoy your journey into great coffee.

Comment

If your into white coffees and there is need to produce a number in quick succession then look at the EM6910 Sunbeam - look at the comparrison (detailed and fair) that Greg Pullman (tamper guru) did on this site - just search it out.

Cheers.

PS. Steam wand + seperate hot water.

Comment