Lelit Combi PL042

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lelit Combi PL042

Hi, Im a brand new newbie, so please be kind.

This category (Midrange Equipment) would appear to have been dominated by 2 machines - Silvias and Sunbeam EM6910s.
    I just thought Id like to throw my recent purchase back into the mix.

After years of struggling with a little Krups and then a little De Longhi (which finally, thankfully, blew up), I decided to get more serious with my coffee making. After a bit of research, I realised my Braun grinder would also have to go. So then, whilst a Silvia / Rocky set appealed, I couldnt stretch the budget quite that far. The EM6910 initially looked good (particularly with the recent promo EM0480 inclusion) and theyre in every shop you walk into. But a few things worried me:
    - all the stories of wide ranging problems (is the 6910 an improvement over the 6900 in this regard?)
    - the NOISE
    - the thermoblock technology (thanks De Longhi!)
    - and the concern over them being mass produced in China - reliability and longevity?

Enter the Lelit. Made in Italy of similar basic principles to the Silvia (lots of stainless steel, 300ml brass boiler, 3-way solenoid valve), although obviously not of the same "Sherman tank" build standard, and with the Lux grinder in the same unit. I was also happy to be dealing with someone who (although not a CS sponsor - sorry) has a high reputation (and is responsible for warranty / repair issues). For me, a price around the same as a Silvia represents good value for money.

So far (about 3 weeks), Im very happy with it and making excellent coffee (IMHO). Hopefully, it will stand the test of (long) time (or until HX upgraditis gets me). At this stage, however, I can enthusiastically recommend it to anyone looking for a machine plus grinder at about $750.