Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First machine - recommendations?

Hi...
    Im just a newbie, though Ive been reading around a bit trying to work out what to do!!
    I know this has been discussed a bit lately, but a quick question - I am looking for a machine, as I am sick of drinking crap coffee or a stale brew, but dont have a machine at home. Was given a department store brand as a wedding gift but it died very quickly - a cheapie (and bad coffee).
    Am I best off buying a good grinder and using my plunger til I can afford a Silvia or equivalent, or should I buy a grinder and a cheaper machine first?
    Thanks heaps, sorry to bother you!!

Re: First machine - recommendations?

Welcome starcaits,

I think you will find that most here would recommend the best grinder you can possibly afford. I have just purchased one which retails for nearly $2000 :-[.

Give the grinder some great, really fresh beans (try CS brown ) and you will never look back.

Also, keep your eye on the hardware for sale section- bargains do come up...

Enjoy the ride...

2mcm

Comment

Welcome aboard starcaits!

Well done for asking these questions FIRST! Its not very pleasant having to nicely tell someone they just wasted $300-$500 on an unsuitable machine!