Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pre-infusion & the Silvia

Hi,

Im not sure if this is a really stupid questions and I havent really found any other threads that discuss this.

Im quite new at coffee-making and am still trying out different things and improving my skills (btw, this forum has been great at helping me to learn many things...so many thanks to the people on this forum!). Ive read that pre-infusion is generally regarded as a good thing as it reduces the chances of channelling, etc. but the Silvia does not have this capability.

I was wondering if when you begin brewing the shot you have the steam valve fully open and slowly close it in maybe around 3 to 7 seconds and then let the shot go ahead as usual would accomplish a similar sort of thing to progressiove pre-infusion. Ive noticed that when the steam valve is on that much less water comes out of the brewhead so I thought maybe the first few seconds could be used to wet the puck before ramping up the volume of water... or is this a really silly idea?

Thanks,
    Tim

Re: Pre-infusion & the Silvia

Cant really give you an authoritive answer but the more brew water bled off via the steam wand will be replaced by cold water which may impact on intra shot temp stability, will leave it to others to discuss the pros and cons.
    One suggestion I have read is to have a delay circuit, turn on the brew switch, solenoid opens and hot water preinfuses the puck, then pump kicks in after a predetermined time, havent read of any one trying it though.

Comment

yeah, id be worried about temp stability, but having said that, its whats in the cup that counts. So if youre getting results to your taste then go for it.
      I once saw a vid on you tube of a guy who used a spritz gun (like you use on your garden, or window cleaner etc) of hot water to dampen the puck before inserting the pf into the grp head on his silvia. Never tried it myself, but he seemed to like it.

Comment

Gday griffster,