Sunbeam EM6910 troubleshooting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sunbeam EM6910 troubleshooting

Excuse if any of these sound like dumb questions but I am a newbie to this whole coffee thing after having my eyes opened by a few mates who are into CS and roasting their own beans.  Anyway to cut a long story short I have been loaned/given an EM6910 to use which has been sitting around for a long time but to me does not seem to be working correctly.  I suspect that something has blocked or stuck as there were a lot of crystals sitting in the base of the water tank when I got it which I rinsed out.  I have also descaled the machine using vinegar as per the manual but have not backflushed it as I havent had a chance to get any of the cleaning tablets yet. I have flushed through about 3 tanks of water on manual and tried to make a few espressos using the double basket (single wall) with some freshly roasted beans that I have roasted and also a mate who roasts gave me. The problem I seem to be having is that not much espresso is coming out, nowehere near 60ml if I use the double shot button and a lot of water seems to be building up in the drip tray via the overflow.
    • How much water is supposed to come out of the overflow/relief port into the bottom of the drip tray whilst you are using the machine, some, a little or none?  
    • The pressure gauge does not seem to rise, I have tried overdosing and tamping to the point that I can get no flow out of the PF yet the pressure gauge doesnt seem to move from the bottom of its scale.  I dont have a proper grinder yet but I was working on the theory that if the grind was too fine for a plunger and fine enough that I could completely block flow then it was somewhere near fine enough.