Rancilio Lucy rebuild

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rancilio Lucy rebuild

Hello all, Newbie here. I have bought a second hand Lucy and Im given it a full once over. I have completely disassembled it so I can get the frame sand blasted and powder coated because of some rust issues. The question I have is the identification of one part as indicated in the photos. It has a tube (B) on it that goes into the tank. Does anybody know what it is/does?

Thanks, Andrew.

Re: Rancilio Lucy rebuild

By the way it took me a couple of hours to do this. Hope I can get it all back together.

Andrew.

Comment

Howdy and welcome to CS ANDREW

On the assumptiom the Lucy is a Silvia with a live in relation ship with a grinder, the two tubes will have the same function as for a Silvia.

One is the water feed inlet: ie the tube that sucks in  the water to make your coffee.
      The  second tube you refer to is the OPV [over pressure valve] outlet.

Basically when the brew pressure exceedes a presettable point [usually set between  9-11 bar] the  OPV will divert the excess pressure [its essentially a relief valve] back into the tank.

When the grind is too fine, or overdosed or you are backflushing,  [that is conditions where you exceed the OPV setting] the OPV will shunt off the excess water [to relieve the pressure] back into the reservoir.  

You can watch  this flow from the tube, for the above conditions.

Comment

Yeah, but I think its the inexplicable third tube thats the issue -- have a look at reply#6 from fix in
        http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1223797147 -- something about a low-water sensor?

BTW, awesome dismantling effort Andrew -- very impressive   8-)

But who ran over your poor mechanical cat??  (2nd pic)

Comment

Yep, that looks very similar to the low water sensor in my Faema.

Comment