First domestic espresso machine purchase Rancilio Silvia vs Sunbeam em6910

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First domestic espresso machine purchase Rancilio Silvia vs Sunbeam em6910

Hi, Im new to the world of coffee, so please be patient with me. I have spent the last few weeks searching on this forum plus google regarding which machine would be best suited to my needs.

I need a great latte, 3-4 times per day, and the capability to make up to 4 milk based coffees when visitors drop by.

The steam component of the machine is just as important as making a great shot, and Ive heard the Sunbeam EM6910 is not so great in the frothing departing. However, its also important to be able to make several lattes at a time when Im entertaining, which Ive heard the Rancilio Silvia, with its single boiler, will not make possible.

Is there another machine entirely that will better serve my needs?

I dont need the machine to last me 10 years, its just my guinea pig to practise this artform on. I plan to upgrade after 3-5 years. Im not a barista, just a novice and new coffee enthusiast, but I will gladly put in the time and effort required to master this art.

Regarding the grinder, Ive heard much conflicting info. Am I better off with the Rocky Doser or Rocky Doserless? Or should I steer clear of both and head straight for the Compak K3- Touch?

My max budget is $1500 for the espresso machine and grinder together.

I live in Melbourne and also need some advice on where to buy fresh beans and accessories.

I look forward to some much needed advice.

Re: First domestic espresso machine purchase Rancilio Silvia vs Sunbeam em6910

Originally posted by 5B74747B787F76767F2A232B281A0 link=1247073705/0#0 date=1247073705
    Ive heard the Sunbeam EM6910 is not so great in the frothing departing.
    Id have to disagree with that. Im able to get a very smooth microfoam happening.......that being said, im able to do the same on my mates $130 Breville machine.