Rancilio Silvia - noob questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rancilio Silvia - noob questions

My shiny new Rancilio Silvia arrived yesterday!  I have been working on my coffee technique for about 6 months, but have only had a Sunbeam burr grinder & a cheapo domestic machine until now.  I went through 250g of beans before I got two decent cups, but I am happy with the machine so far.

Questions:
    • Can anyone tell me why it has two water inlet pipes (2008 model)? One is easy to manage, but the other is short and wont stay on the bottom of the tank.
    • I want to start making quality coffee.  What is the best shot size & coffee cup size to use?

Thanks in advance

Re: Rancilio Silvia - noob questions

Gday tts,

And welcome to CoffeeSnobs!

1. The short tube is the return from the overpressure valve. This valve keeps the pressure into the coffee at the required amount by diverting excess water back into the tank. It doesnt need to go to the bottom of the tank cause water comes out of it!

2. Use the double basket, dose right, and make the shot size and cup size that taste best to you. A search of the site will give you lots of tips, but the best tip is "its whats in the cup that counts".

Greg

Comment

Thanks Greg, those are very helpful answers.  tts,  hmmm, I like that

Its interesting you say to use the double basket.  On my old (small) machine I never bothered with the single basket.  I just made a single shot from the double every time.  With this new one I am not sure as I like a strong cup but I want to make sure I am making the best coffee possible (at my skill level).  Would you suggest making two full shots from the double basket and pouring them both in to my mug?

Comment

Originally posted by 3C29232D263C202D3B252D2F480 link=1249093026/2#2 date=1249102567
        Thanks Greg, those are very helpful answers.  tts,  hmmm, I like that