Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lelit PL41TEM & Compak K3 Touch Help

Hi all,

First off, although I have read many a discussion on this forum, this is my first post and I am sorry if this isnt the right place to post this.

I am new to making my own -good- coffee. I recently grabbed myself a Lelit PL41TEM, and a Compak K3 Touch, both from Jetblack Espresso, who have been extremely helpful. Ive been researching a lot, and with more knowledge comes better coffee, but I think - due to my inexperience - Im still not pouring shots that do these great machines justice.

Ive fixed a lot of the problems Ive come across. Ive figured out that I do have to tamp firmly to get the pressure gauge up in greens, and to get a good extraction time. Though, now I am struggling to fine tune my shots so both machines are in sync. If anyone could help me with these questions Id be extremely appreciative.

After extraction, Ive been pulling the portafilter out to see that its quite watery on top. I was told that Im probably not putting enough coffee in the basket. So I put a bit more in but then it was too full - I couldnt actually get it in the group. So I did a little bit less the next try, and it could fit, but putting it in and then taking it out revealed that the it was so full that the group was leaving an imprint on the coffee. Is this good, or bad?

Ive read that 14 grams is a double shot, and thats supposedly what comes out of the K3 Touch for a double, but theres even less here than there was when I was getting water on top. So Im a little confused.

I followed directions from the (fantastic) people at Jetblack Espresso, and I believe I poured out a better shot. The crema was much darker, more of a brown/red than a light brown/gold as it was before. However, even after putting the right amount of coffee into the basket, it was still enough to actually make contact with the group and form an imprint.