Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EM6910 - pressure guage not working, and cannot backflush

Hi guys,

Im new to this brewing thing but very excited to get into it. I just purchased my first machine on Ebay last week being a Sunbeam EM6910, the buying stating that has been used no more than 20 times since new..
    I got it home, set it up, and was excited to extract my first coffee. I immediately observed that the pressure guage was not working. I immediatly rang the previous owner who stated that the guage had worked on and off since nearly new. He states that he attended Myer and they told him that it wouldnt effect the coffee at all.
    I read up on your sight, and decided to descale and backflush. When backflushing, no alot happened. It just pressurised the machine...and didnt do alot more.
    My question is...Is my machine ok? can I do anything to fix it? Does anyone know anywhere near Wagga where I could take it to be looked at?
    As a newby any help would be greatful

Re: EM6910 - pressure guage not working, and cannot backflush

I posted a fix for the backflush here: http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1276394810

Its a bit poor form of the ebayer - the preasure guage is very important to help judge how close you are to the right extraction. Get your money back.

Comment

I fixed a 6910 with the same issue.  One part of the copper pipe that leads to the 3 way valve and pressure guage was blocked.  Its a few centimetres long but has 2 90 degree bends.  I prodded and poked with a guitar string with limited success.  I eventually cleared it by soaking in coffetto in an ultrasonic cleaner, which gradually ate away at the small blob of gunk and eventually I could rod it through.

Not too hard to get to this bit of pipe and remove it if you are handy with DIY and follow the guides on here.

Its the pipe circled in the pic below:

Cheers

Comment