Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Out of darkness & about to buy my 1st machine...BES900?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Out of darkness & about to buy my 1st machine...BES900?

Howdie All

One of those noob advice posts, but WAIT! Ive done my homework  . Like a coiled spring, Im poised to buy my first real coffee machine, and thought Id give the experts a final chance to stick their oars in and confuse me  .

(Youll have missed me lurking in the corner all these weeks - Im an expert at it, and if it wasnt a tendency to drool and the occasional passage of wind, I could stay hidden practically indefinitely)...

So. I like good coffee. However, My palate isnt refined enough that if I failed to notice a passing squall while brewing a cup, the altered taste would result in me strangling my wife and dismembering the cat.

I am the lone proper coffee-lover in the house. I hope to re-educate the other savages that blunder around the place, and occasionally Guests occur. So I wanted something that could step up to producing 5 or 6 cups occasionally, while squirting out a cup or two on a daily basis.

Very importantly, as I am still a Philistine when it comes to producing a decent cup, I wanted a machine that was a consistent as possible, with as little need to tinker with the base settings as possible - ie, as far as possible, I want my incompetence to be the only variable (Have I said as far as possible again? It may be time for my pills).

Ive been through the usual start with a budget of $500 and multiply by three by the time Im settled. And $1500 is the absolute limit.