Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Buying secondhand sunbeam EM6910 - what to check?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying secondhand sunbeam EM6910 - what to check?

Hi all, i am pretty much a new comer here. And pretty much newbie to making my own espresso.

After reading the posts here I 've decided to get a secondhand EM6910 rather than a cheaper but new machine.
    On a quick google search i found a few seconhand EM6910 machines being sold for $200ish, or $400 for the EM6910 with a burr grinder
    most of them are 1 - 2 years old

any suggestion on what sort of burr grinder i should look for? and "check list" on things i need to check?

regards

I'm no expert but good things to check would be if the group collar is worn (use the search function to see what you should be looking out for) and whether the pressure guage is working. Also see if they still have the receipt. My secondhand 6910's steam pump just died but it was replaced for free under Sunbeam's 5 year pump warranty.

Liam

Comment

Thanks liam, will do so

cheers

Comment

G'Day,

I have owned two EM6910, they made close to 10 coffees per day for 18 months. Very strong and reliable machine. Parts are easy to get online.

The first developed an issue that i was quoted at $300 to fix. So I bought another and kept the first for spares.

When the BES900 came out we upgraded. I have since sold the BES900 as I was a little dissapointed with the machine as time went by.

Since then we have upgraded once more to a lever machine, both Sunbeams were given to family members. The first repaired, ended up just being a fuse and is going strong, the second still like new.

Only down side to the Sunbeam, it is very noisy.

I would buy new through Harvey Norman at 40 months interest free and have the full warranty. But that just me.

Think of the money you will save making great coffee at home and the extra spent will be saved in coffee costs.

John.

Comment