Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will a rancilio Silvia suit me?`

Hi,

I've been using a Sunbeam EM3800 now for about 4 or 5 years. Last year I splurged out and bought a EM0480 grinder. I've been pretty happy with the results, but understand that the espresso machine is very basic and the crema I get is mostly due to the pressurised basket. Recently the power button on the EM3800 has broken and I have had to sticky tape it in the on position and the button no longer lights up to indicate that the machine is on.

This and a nice on-call period has made me seriously consider upgrading my machine. A workmate has reccomended a Rancilio Silvia as a great step up. I do have some questions however and wonder if a Silvia will work for me.

My partner and myself usually drink short black esspersso's in the morning and may go for a latte or flat whit on a weekend. We generally don't use the steamer as we have a EM0180 frother. I'll also admit that I'll often just nuke some milk in the microwave and pull a shot into that. We tend to buy beans every two weeks and will get them either from my local Cibo espresso bar or from the Adelaide Markets.

The EM3800 is pretty much foolproof to pull a half decent coffee. Is the Silvia the same or is it much easier to pull a bad shot?

How long does the Silvia take to warm up to a temperature that will give good results? I have seen a thread on here discussing using a timer to power the machine on ahead of time. Does it take that long to warm up to make that a requirement?

Do I have to be really fiddly with the grind to get OK results. I don't often adjust the grind setting on the EM0480 now. Will this have to change, or will I still pull acceptable shots with a grind somewhere near where it should be? Is the EM0480 good enough for use with the Silvia