Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• yet another EM6910 thread

Hi guys,

i'm fairly new to the whole 'make your own coffee at home' thing. i bought my 6910 around april i think so been going at it not quite 6 months. i have a couple of very good teachers in the family and have also been browsing around on here for a while picking up lots of useful tips.

i currently have my machine paired with a breville smart grinder. i upgraded to that from the sunbeam 0480 about a month ago and the cleanliness alone made it well worth the expense.

at the moment i'm using the espresso wow beans. i tried some local ones (i'm in adelaide) from a few different shops but i'm back with espresso wow now. great tasting coffee. also the consistency is very good which is testament to the quality of the beans (thanks andy).

ok, so now to some things i need some confirmation on. not sure if they're problems as such.

firstly, i dose according to the level in the basket. i don't get the whole 'weigh the beans' thing, as that will vary. i've done the 5c test and dose accordingly every time. the silver part on the sunbeam tamp sits about 1-2mm proud of the basket.

as for the grind, i did the 'sweet spot' test which on my machine had the guage reading around the 10 o'clock mark. i'm aware these guages are all different in their calibration but its a reference point.

firstly,