Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sunbeam EM700 + BSG + new to manual machines = questions

Hi All

Im totally new to manual machines (ex nespresso user) so ive been lurking here for ages and reading up! I purchased an EM7000 + BSG yesterday and have been playing all morning trying to get a good shot out.

Ive managed to get the pour with a double basket to 30 seconds for 55-60 ml by varying my grind, trying (without much skill) to tamp the same and weighing the dose. At the moment im using 16 grams, this keeps the little gauge smack bang in the middle (for what its worth) and has the pour at 30 seconds on manual for the 60 mls.

My first (of many im sure) question is, why is my puck sticking to the screen each time!! Am i under dosing but grinding too fine? It seems to me like there isnt enough coffee in the basket........ will try to insert a picture.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/be8bj72cop5x2l8/shots6.jpg

Thanks in advance for any replies (and your patience!!)

Originally posted by Lukemc View Post
    My first (of many im sure) question is, why is my puck sticking to the screen each time!! Am i under dosing but grinding too fine? It seems to me like there isnt enough coffee in the basket........ will try to insert a picture.
    It shouldn't make a lot of difference but I'd say yes, your basket looks a bit underdosed to me. I've been told that you should get the dose right first, then adjust the grind for the optimal shot time.

With my EM6910, I dose by eye and I tend to add ground coffee until the basket is full and there is a reasonable peak above the level of the basket lip. I then tap to settle and tamp. I'm usually left with about 5mm between top of grinds and lip of basket. That is probably technically "overdosed" but I find it produces the best results and the pucks are perfect.

Comment

thanks. i found the 5 cent test and did that, takes about 19-20 grams at a slightly courser grind and all is looking good now

cheers

Comment