Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrading from Breville Cafe Roma to ?????? <$1000 options

Hi everyone.
    This is my first time to post here. Heaps of good info on the site but I'm struggling to find an answer that suits my situation:

I've had a Breville Cafe Roma for about 18 months. I bought it 2nd hand off a friend in as new condition for the princely sum of $20. It has given my wife and I many good coffees; not great, but good. It gets used to make around 2-4 cups/day on average. Almost always milk drinks.

We started out with pre-ground coffee which we thought was a huge improvement over instant and I have since bought a Sunbeam EM0480 which we have been using for about 6 months with fresh beans and getting some fairly good results. I am not considering changing the grinder at any time soon.

The Cafe Roma has had a few parts fail, I replaced the group head seal and the locking collar a while ago because it cracked and leaked. Now it is leaking again, so I think it is time to upgrade the machine.

I have been considering a few options but can't make up my mind. I have narrowed it down to three contenders:

1. Sunbeam Cafe Series EM7000 ~$860.00
    PID twin thermoblock
    Commercial size portafilter (not sure on actual size) with single wall filters
    Pre-infusion
    Hot water tap
    Pressure and milk temp gauge
    Quiet
    Matches the grinder

2. Breville Infuser BES840 ~$520.00
    PID single thermoblock
    54mm portafilter with single and dual wall filters
    Pre-infusion
    Hot water tap
    Pressure gauge

3. Rancillio Silivia V3 ~$650.00
    Single boiler
    Commercial size portafilter
    No pre-infusion
    No PID
    No hot water
    Loud

We would like to make coffees efficiently for up to about 5-6 people some times, but not very frequently. Is the Sunbeam worth the extra money over the Breville?