Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sunbeam EM6910 stops in continuous mode..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sunbeam EM6910 stops in continuous mode..

Hi there,
    I'm a newbie to the world of expresso machines. I recently picked up a 2nd hand EM6910 and EM0480 grinder both in unused condition.
    I've been enjoying experimenting in the art of producing a good brew with fresh beans!

Recently I've been having issues with producing expressos using the manual "continuous pour" button. The manual states in manual mode it will continuously pour up to 240ml. It's does that fine with no coffee in the group handle.
    However with coffee it seems to switch off after about 30ml. I'm getting good pressure - between the yellow and red bands on the pressure gauge.
    Am I grinding my coffee too fine or packing the coffee in the filter basket too tightly?

I don't know how it measures. I've always suspected a timer.
    How long does it take to stop with and without coffee?

Comment

TG has asked the key question that will diagnose the problem? how long does it take?

From my experience with my old 6910, if I ever didn't get up to sufficient volume it's because I had ground the coffee too fine and the water couldn't pass through. So it took a long time to get a few drips and by the time it was pouring faster the machine had shut itself off. is that your experience daz? (don't worry too much about the pressure gauge)

Comment

A few variables here; single or double shot basket, single or dual wall, grinder setting, dose, tamping force.

I bought a 6910 paired with 0480 in Adelaide for my sister in law over Xmas and have a 6910 paired with a Breville SmartGrinder in Tas. I use the double shot, single wall basket only and use the same dose and what I hope is a consistent tamping pressure,.