Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• portaspresso as main home brewing device

Hi all,

I am an espresso novice and would like to buy some new equipments. I only drink a few cups of espresso a day (4 cups max, typically 2 in morning/evening) and never use milk so that I don't need high pressure steam etc... I have been playing with an Europiccola + porlex for a few months and can get decent shots on average, and good shots when luck is here (which is rare). This has been quite a lot of fun, have learned a lot about espresso in the process, but am getting quite frustrated about the randomness of the quality of my shots. I guess that I could plug a thermometer near the group head and obtain better temperature stability, and try other tricks, which I will surely do at some point, but I would also like to buy some new equipments. I don't really like fancy electronics devices and would instead like to buy something simple which could let me tune the different parameters. In the end, I don't need high pressure steam, but only hot water at a stable given temperature/pressure going through some fine grind coffee.

First, I would like to update my grinder, and I am thinking of getting one of these wonderful Rosco mini! While reading about the Rosco grinder, I discovered the Rossa portaspresso device: it looks superb, is built too last, received very good comments (on this forum at least), seems to be very temperature stable, goes well with the rosco grinder, does not make my kitchen a mess (wife appreciates this point), is small, and allows easy pressure profiling! The only thing that I am not crazy about is the fact that I need to turn the thing upside down during the espresso making process - this does not seem to be a big problem though, so says the videos. I would have loved to buy a Caravel, but this seems hard to find. (Don't like NO2 cartridges,