Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NC Oscar for beginner?

Me again!

So after my last post on the Lelits I was presented with a few more options within my price range, many thanks to everyone who posted and contacted me with advice. One of the new options is a brand new NS Oscar which just comes in under my budget of $1000 from a CS site sponsor.

I am quite interested in this offer, but I am just wondering if it is suitable for a complete novice like me? Is it a difficult beastie to master, or a little more user friendly than Miss Silvia (yes I have swung back to that option mainly based upon price and how much it is loved around here). The package also includes training on the machine when I pick it up and I understand that which ever machine I end up purchasing I will need to have training and loads of practise!

I understand (in my very limited way) that they are completely different machines, and that the Oscar is a step up from the Silvia. Also another CS sponsor suggested a HX was more suited to my lifestyle than a single boiler anyway, less chance of me killing a HX when I'm sleep deprived/distracted.

Ahhhhh, so many choices!

Only spotted one question in there....

Answer: Yes

Comment

Originally posted by Jimmytheboot View Post
      Only spotted one question in there....

Answer: Yes

Actually there were a few, I might have just missed a few question marks!

- Is the Oscar suitable/good choice for a beginner?
      - Is it difficult to master?
      - Is it a bit more forgiving to operate than the Silvia (kind of the same question as the one above!)

Which question did you spot?
      Last edited by mcbeal; 4 April 2013, 11:31 AM. Reason: spelling!

Comment

Spotted: I am quite interested in this offer, but I am just wondering if it is suitable for a complete novice like me?

Yes it would be good for a beginner, mastering will be easier because a cooling flush is simpler to get right then temp surfing a silvia.