Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hi all, I am a newb needing suggestions and new machine, under $650?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi all, I am a newb needing suggestions and new machine, under $650?

Hi all,

I have the first Sunbeam cafe series (still) but it is dying a slow death, so I am looking to buy a new one ASAP. I was able to pull some decent shots with this machine but no longer. I have been considering a Sylvia or a GC. I drink piccolos and macchiatos and do not want to wait too long in the morning to consistently pull a great shot while still half asleep, I have the machine on a timer to help in that area. (I use the Sunbeam EM 0480 grinder.) While I do not mind a bit of a learning curve in pursuit of pulling consistent and excellent shots, I have very early starts and I am not a morning person
    I am open to any suggestions (please bear in mind I am a newb), reliability is important but somewhat secondary to ease of use.

Sorry, should have posted this under mid range equipment, oops.

Thanks for any input.
    Last edited by Borgling; 6 May 2013, 08:09 AM.

All good, bought a Silvia.

Comment

didnt wait long. M

Comment

No, I was ready to buy so I spent the day researching as I needed it for Mother's Day but now wondering about PID or a boiler temperature gauge.

Comment

Good choice... I'd imagine if you had've waited for responses, they would've been dominated by recommendations of the Silvia in that price-point (perhaps following the standard "what grinder do you have?").

I've recently got a Silvia, and put a temp read-out on it. I'd say for the money it cost, and the simplicity of the install, it was worth the cost. Takes some of that guess work and learning curve out of figuring out it's cycling temperature. I'm finding it a little more fussy than my old Breville Ikon (single boiler), but it is clearly capable of noticeably better results when you do get it right (grind/dose/tamp).