Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Commercial machines for home use, advice please!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Commercial machines for home use, advice please!

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the world of coffee and am wanting to upgrade from my basic Krups to something with a lot more grunt! I have come across La Pavoni PUB 1EM and also a Bezzera BZ35 which both seem to be at good prices, really cheap in fact.... I was wondering if you think these would be suitable for home? And are there any things I need to keep in mind with these commercial machines? I understand the Bezzera will need to be plumbed.

Welcome Hawky,

Why do you want to jump straight to a 'commercial' machine? For home use you can get a great quality machine with an E61 group for around the $2k mark, and some really cool stuff for $1k more. Are you planning on occasional high volume use or something?
    Cheers
    BOSW.

Comment

Plumbing is one issue the other is the power supply manly need higher amps than a standard domestic socket

Comment

Getting a 15A or 20A circuit and outlet installed isn't overly complicated or expensive. However, your commercial machine will consume HEAPS more electricity than anything built for the home.

Comment

The BZ35 runs on 10A, its the same boiler/element as the Galatea Domus

Comment

Originally posted by Barry O'Speedwagon View Post
            Welcome Hawky,

Why do you want to jump straight to a 'commercial' machine? For home use you can get a great quality machine with an E61 group for around the $2k mark, and some really cool stuff for $1k more. Are you planning on occasional high volume use or something?
            Cheers
            BOSW.