Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frustration with getting my coffee right

Hi all,

Im new to the coffee scene after a friend recently gave me a Gaggia Classic. His wife wouldn't let him leave it on the bench ( so he had to pack the whole thing up, empty the water, put it away, after every coffee.) So now it's mine. Problem I have is I'm about to kill someone if I can't figure out why the coffee doesn't look like all the hipsters on YouTube. Every video I watch online they take like 30 seconds to pull an espresso shot. Mine is more like a cum shot than an espresso shot, its too fast, it explodes into the cup, it's all over in about 3 seconds and leaves a bad taste in your mouth. I think a finer grind would fix it but I don't have one. I'm buying quality fresh ground beans online. Any tips for getting the machine to take it slower?

I don't know, you could play some Barry White songs while brewing the coffee?

Seriously, you are going to struggle if you can't control the grind. All you can do is up the dose of coffee in the basket and tamp harder, which has an obvious limit. But 'fresh' ground beans don't really exist. They aint 'fresh' for too long after being ground.

Comment

I belted the tamp down with a hammer and it still goes through it too fast. These guys grind it to order and deliver next day (except weekends)

Comment

What about if I tamp it down then put more coffee in then tamp it down again?

Comment

I spent 2 hours experimenting yesterday. I'm normally pretty well tempered but by the end of that process the anger sharks were circling... I finished up dumping about $20worth of shots down the drain and all I learned is how not to do coffee.

Comment

Buy a grinder and you will have control over that variable!!

Comment

The puck expands and it would probably attached itself to the shower screen like poop.
              Is there no chance to get a grinder?

Comment