Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How would you spend circa 1k?

Hi all,

I'm about to dip a toe into the rabbit hole that is home espresso. Have a budget in the 800-1500 range, depending how carried away I choose to get.

I'm a complete novice, and have only pulled a handful of shots on other people's pretty terrible machines, and have stuck to pour over at home and work.

I think I've decided on a hand grinder, given bang for buck. I don't mind spending a bit of time and effort making a drink, will very rarely make more than 1-2 flat whites per day and the 1zpresso JX pro at under $300 looks like great value.

Need help with the machine though. I have JB HiFi vouchers that can get me a Breville BES840 for close to zero cash down. This machine sounds like it might get the job done. Doesn't particularly excite me though.

Have also considered Rancilio Silvia V6 (brass boiler), Lelit PL41TEMD (PID) and Breville dual boiler (not sure I need). These will obviously set me back a grand give or take.

My priorities are:

1. Ability to deliver a quality shot, replicably without a crazy learning curve.
    2. Can steam decently.
    3. Not a huge machine - I don't have a huge kitchen.
    4. Will be long lived. If I like it, I don't anticipate wanting to upgrade the machine for a good number of yrs.
    ​4. Kinda pretty. If it's sitting on my kitchen bench, I'd rather it look good than not.

What would you choose, one of these, or something else?

Cheers for any thoughts.

Apart from being big, longevity and looking pretty the Breville dual boiler would fit your criteria (can be had at binglee for <$1k).

otherwise my suggestions would be the lelit or Silvia that you suggested.

Comment

Thanks for that, do you think the dual boiler is much different in performance from the 840, providing you're willing to wait a minute for your milk?

Comment