Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Hardware Purchase

Hi Folks,
    Im a newbie to the boards but have been reading with much interest over the last few months while researching my soon to be new coffee machine.

I think Im nearly ready to take the plunge into high-end hardware from my trusty (but boring) Krups Machine.

Ideally, I would like to spend no more than $1500 but will go up to $2000 if I have to.

That and aesthetics are the only factors for me. I figure that when youre looking at the top end of the home brew market, Id be pretty unlucky to get myself a crappy machine that makes crap coffee!

So for looks, I like an exposed group head. the ECM Giotto (priced from $2200, the Bricoletta from $1895 and the isomac Millennium is a cutie also @ around $1900. I also like the Minore II, but think its getting out of the price range probably. The only thing I really dont like is the big clumpy feet on an Expobar. Hmm

So my question is: which one do I go for and who from the sponsors is going to give me the best deal. I think it might be a modern-day shopaholic disorder, but I dont mind spending money on something if I think Im getting a good deal. So feel free to provide opinion, thoughts, ideas or best deals via PM if youd like.

Thanks all.. (really enjoy the discussions also)

Franc

PS: I live in St Kilda, Melbourne - about 350 cafes within walking distance, but oh no! I need a coffee machine of my own!

Re: New Hardware Purchase

Dont forget to budget in a good grinder. A great brewer is useless with-out a good grinder!

Java "Gotta love new toys!" phile
    Toys! I must have new toys!!!

Comment

Hi Lion,

You are talking some good machines here, but you will need to factor in a good grinder also. I can assist with the Giotto but would also suggest that you may like to consider the Diadema Junior Plus Semi-auto. Its a brilliant machine and dead sexy to boot ...